Gearing up!

Oh, what a feeling!

I love standing on the precipice of a new year, ripe with opportunity and potential 🙂  I especially love it when the preceding year was such an emotional roller coaster that I cannot wait to bury it in the past, despite the incredible growth and insight it provided me with… :o)
Oh, 2010, you are by far my favorite year of this new millennium.  I think that, although 2008 will always hold a dear spot in my heart, you stand ready to take the #1 place in my history.  You will go where I send you; how shall I send you?
Well…:

*I will be able to knock off at least 18 items on my list of 101 in 1001; others will continue to be in-progress events that culminate at the end of the 1001 days

*I am running my first half marathon on April 25
*I am running my first FULL marathon on August something-or-other (whenever the Edmonton marathon is…), and I want to go to Kelowna in October for their marathon
*I am learning to swim again, in order to fulfill my triathlon-ing destiny 🙂  I used to be a fish – a fish, I tell you – until I failed my Bronze Cross endurance swim by 2 stinkin’ minutes when I was fighting bronchitis in grade 10, and my ex-boyfriend made fun of me, and I swore to never swim again.  I’m like that … never say never!  Ha!
*I am returning to my beloved Footstock again this year, but rather than allowing me to conquer my 2:34 time from last year, they decided to make the course longer: 5.5km run, 40km bike, 10km run.  Yikes!  I am soooo up for the challenge though 🙂  AND it means visiting with my Sku in Calgary again!
*2010 is the year that my business will explode (in a good way!), and reward all my hard work from 2009.
*2 words: bikram yoga.  Sherrie has agreed to submit to the heat and torture with me, and we are starting to go on Sundays as of this weekend!  I loved it when I used to go, and it’s been over 3 years!  I am really looking forward to developing that mind-body connection, struggling to maintain peace and perspective despite physical stress.  It is an incredible experience!  I just have to avoid thinking of my extra pregnancy skin flopping around in the heat…!

*I am continuing my quest for good, real, non-processed food for my family.  I just placed my first organic meat order with Sunshine Organic, out in St Francis.  I love that they are local to my hometown, and their prices were actually phenomenal.  I love, love, love knowing where my food is coming from.  Part of my business quest revolves around making organic and natural foods more affordable for my family, meaning that I don’t have to worry about the price ;o)
*On that note (for the first time in 20 years!) I am excited to get out and build my vegetable garden and compost bin!  I have a raised bed along my driveway that is about 3’x20′ (if memory serves me…) that needs some serious TLC – the thistles and weeds have overtaken it in years past.  I am going to dig out and rototill it early this spring, and actually pay for a good mix of black dirt for this year so that I don’t have to wait for a couple seasons.  I am also going to do some container gardening for my squashes, and make a separate potato bed.  Excitement!!  I hate flower gardening (since they, you know, die), but vegetable gardening actually leaves you with something to show for all your hard work.
*Leith and I, busy though we will be, are going to take more time for each other this year.  We’ve already planned our trip to Kananaskis to go skiing in January (yaaaa!), and we are planning to go to Vegas in July.  His quad is fixed and he has a new bike, and we have no major projects planned so I am hoping that he gets to go out and play a lot this year!
*This is totally cheesy, but 2010 is the year of being hawt again 😉  I will be back down to my pre-wedding weight of 125lb by the time my 29 birthday rolls around.  I have 13lbs to go!  I am actually really enjoying the process; I have never paid attention to cause and effect in my body, so it is interesting to watch what I eat, see how much exercise it takes to fix my “indiscretions” (chocolate…), and see the results.  It is a good lesson in consequence, and really quite valuable in terms of taking responsibility for my own health.
2010 is going to rock!  I am so excited for the ball to drop on Thursday night, to bid adieu to 2009, and to open my arms to the amazing possibilities of the New Year.  May it be as much a blessing and reward to you and your loved ones as it will be to me and mine 🙂
xoxo
_uacct = “UA-4888259-1”;urchinTracker();

2 thoughts on “Gearing up!

  1. You'll get a minimum tax deduction of $500 when you donate the car you don't use to charity. Cars4Charities has hundreds of fine charities for you to donate a car to. Car donations are fast, free and you can donate your car if it doesn't run. Both you and the charity win when you donate car.

Leave a comment